Blood filled mosquito

Mosquitoes in Minnesota are notoriously bad. In fact it’s often joked that mosquitoes are the real official state bird. With that said this year has been one of the worst for mosquitoes that I can remember. It’s gotten so bad that it was keeping me inside. That’s right, even though we have only 6 months of weather without snow to enjoy the outdoors I would rather have sat inside then get eaten alive.

Here was my problem. My little girl was turning 3 and we planned a birthday party for her at the house. We invited 36 friends and family members 18 of them being children under the age of 12. We needed to be able to go outside for our own sanity. In preparation for the party my wife went outside to do some weeding. Even though it was about 85 degrees out she wore long sleeves and pants and covered herself in bug spray. It didn’t help. She could only handle it for 10 minutes and she was done. I watched as she constantly waved her hand in front of her face to shoo away the swarm of mosquitoes around her.

Mosquito Beater Hose End Sprayer

I had never tried it before but we sell a product that is called Mosquito Beater by Bonide. It comes in a few different forms including a granule shaker and a hose end sprayer. A few hours before the party we applied the spray version to the yard and garden around the house itself. Right as the party was starting we decided to apply the granules to the areas we didn’t spray down near the lake that we live on. In both instances the mosquitoes were relentlessly attacking us as we applied the Mosquito Beater. But I can honestly say that I didn’t see a single mosquito during the party. In fact, I had completely forgotten about it until my dad mentioned how well the Mosquito Beater was working.

Mosquito Beater Granule Shaker

I highly recommend using this product in your yard if you have a mosquito issue. It is a residual insecticide so it will continue to work for a number of weeks after you apply it. Using this product made it possible for me to go back outside and enjoy the few remaining weeks of decent weather that we have left.

If you would like more information contact us at 763-553-1222

Stop in and see us at 12700 Bass Lake Rd. Maple Grove, MN 55369

Visit us on the web at levahnbros.com

For more tips about getting rid of mosquitoes and other pests check out these blogs: How to get rid of 1-5,000 mosquitoes a night using a bat house, how to get rid of wasps hornets and yellow jackets, How to get rid of Box elder Bugs

